Pink Floyd - BW 2nd Gen Reel - RT707pb (REC 2) (24-48)
Album info
Length  : 68:17
Format  : FLAC
Rating  : 6
Live  : Yes
Recording Date  : 08-08-1969
Track List
01 Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun 09:22
02 Cymbaline 08:53
03 The Beginning 03:46
04 Beset By Creatures Of The Deep 06:07
05 The Narrow Way 05:22
06 The Pink Jungle 05:43
07 The Labyrinths Of Auximenes 08:17
08 Behold The Temple Of Light 04:25
09 The End Of The Beginning 05:54
10 Interstellar Overdrive 10:28

Recorded at the Plumpton Racecourse, East Sussex, London, UK. Great audience recording.
Note that the tracks names/numbering is a bit strange; I'd recommend you'd use the cue file when playing back the files.

From the info file:

Pink Floyd
9th National Jazz & Blues Festival, Plumpton Racecourse, Plumpton, Sussex, England
Recorder 2
2nd Generation Reel
RT-707 Playback


This is a transfer of Bernard White's 2nd Gen reel of Nick Ralph's 'Recorder 2' taping of the Floyd's appearance at Plumpton Festival. Bernard White, as many will know, was a long time supporter of Syd and set up 'Terrapin' the first Barrett fanzine. His interest in Floyd extended about as far as 1969. He didn't care to collect any later Floyd than this. The recording was on the same tape as his 2nd Gen copy of the Royal Albert Hall 26 July 1969 show, also recorded by Nick Ralph.

The tape features the show as a 1/4' single mono track on a BASF 'Low Noise High Output' 5 inch reel.

This transfer features the 'whistling' on Cymbaline and Interstellar Overdrive. It is possible that it was this copy, or the one prior to it, that introduced this artefact into the collectors' pool. It is also likely that this reel is the source of many subsequent circulating transfers.


Master > Reel > BASF Reel (Single Track Mono, 3 3/4 IPS)

Pioneer RT-707 Reel-to-Reel > Tascam HD-P2 > Broadcast WAV (24/48) > FLAC 8

Peak 5.02 used to split into tracks, and trim leading and trailing silences. No other processing performed.

xACT 1.62 used to convert to FLAC.

Downsample to transfer to Audio CD but please do not distribute / share downsampled copies.


1. Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun
2. Cymbaline
3. The Beginning
4. Beset By Creatures Of The Deep
5. The Narrow Way
6. The Pink Jungle
7. The Labyrinths of Auximines
8. Behold the Temple of Light
9. The End of the Beginning
10. Interstellar Overdrive

The files in this transfer are numbered as they appeared on the tape. The order above is the generally accepted running order for the show. An included CUE file sequences the tracks as above.

Recording and transfer to FLAC by Beechwoods, 2008/2009.