Pink Floyd - Before Time Began (LP transfer) (zepster) (24-96)
Album info
Length  : 53:27
Format  : FLAC
Rating  : 7
Live  : Yes
Recording Date  : Various
Track List
01 Remember A Day 04:28
02 Astronomy Domine 04:03
03 Interstellar Overdrive 03:06
04 Apples And Oranges 03:02
05 It Would Be So Nice 03:42
06 Candy And A Currant Bun 02:43
07 Scream The Last Scream 04:43
08 Heart Beat Pig Meat 03:10
09 Crumbling Land 04:12
10 Careful With That Axe Eugene 04:58
11 Point Me At The Sky 03:36
12 Biding My Time 05:17
13 Embryo 04:38
14 Mademoiselle Knobs 01:49

Compilation of rarities. Great sound quality.

From the info file:

Artist: Pink Floyd
Label: Express EXP-88202
Format: Vinyl
Country: Japan
Released: 1988

LINEAGE: LP -> Technics SD-L5 w/Ortofon OM 5E cartridge -> M-Audio Fast Track C400 external music card -> PC @ Reaper v4.72/x64 -> WAV 96kHz/24bit -> CD Wave Editor v1.98 -> FLAC 96kHz/24bit (level 6)
ADDITIONAL INFO: Cordial CMK 222 x2 cables used. No additional edit is done.

Side A;

1. Remember A Day
2. Astronomy Domine
3. Interstellar Overdrive
4. Apples And Oranges
5. It Would Be So Nice
6. Candy And A Currant Bun
7. Scream The Last Scream

Side B:

1. Heart Beat Pig Meat
2. Crumbling Land
3. Careful With That Axe Eugene
4. Point Me At The Sky
5. Biding My Time
6. Embryo
7. Mademoiselle Knobs

Side A: Pink Floyd Line Up from Spring 1967 to early 1968: Syd Barrett, Roger Waters, Rick Wright, Nick Mason. These tracks are never release before. Studio out-taks. May 1967-March 1968.
Side B: Pink Floyd Line Up from early 1968: David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Rick Wright, Nick Mason. These tracks are never released before. Studio out-takes. April 1968 - November 1970.

Notes: This Japanese compilation album (reissued on CD in Italy) brings together a number of single A- and B-sides, curios and outtakes that were previously issued on a variety of different sources. It's neatly divided into a 'Barrett Side' and a 'Gilmour Side'. The first three tracks, alternate versions of 'Remember a Day', 'Astronomy Domine' and 'Interstellar Overdrive' already appeared on the Relics compilation. 'Apples & Oranges', 'It Would Be So Nice' and 'Candy and a Currant Bun' are from three singles and contain much of Syd Barrett's wacky sense of psychedelic music. Catchy tunes all three of them, it's at once obvious why someone would think the'd have singles potential, leave them off The Piper at the Gates of Dawn and issue them separately. They're all pretty good. So is 'Scream Thy Last Scream', which seems to be something of a horror film parody, an even wackier piece than anything on Piper. I never really got into Piper, but the material on this album has me pretty much convinced of Barrett's talent. The 'Gilmour Side' starts with the three tracks from the Zabriskie Point soundtrack; the hypnotic 'Heart Beat, Pig Meat', used for the opening titles, is still stunning. The title referred to on the cover as 'Careful With That Axe, Eugene' is the same called 'Come in Number 51, Your Time Is Up' on the soundtrack, a more brooding and then more explosive version of 'Eugene', shown during the film's climax. The remaining Gilmour Side tracks are not all that impressive; 'Biding My Time' is from Relics again, Embryo an odd instrumental, and 'Mademoiselle Knobs' seems to be the rehearsal for 'Seamus' from Meddle; a version of it also appears during Live at Pompeii, but it's really mostly just a dog howling. Still, the otherwise hard to find Barrett tracks and the Zabriskie Point songs are excellent, and even the lesser tracks are not totally without substance. Pretty hard to find, but if you don't know the songs here, you should really look out for it.